• Home
  • A Long Way Gone

A Long Way Gone

A Long Way Gone
  • Author : Ishmael Beah
  • Publsiher : Penguin Canada
  • Release : 02 July 2013
  • ISBN : 0143190369
  • Pages : 240 pages
  • Rating : 4/5 from 209 ratings
GET THIS BOOKA Long Way Gone

Summary:
At the age of twelve, Ishmael Beah fled attacking rebels in Sierra Leone and wandered a land rendered unrecognizable by violence. By thirteen, he'd been picked up by the government army, and Beah, at heart a gentle boy, found that he was capable of truly terrible acts. At sixteen, he was removed from fighting by UNICEF, and through the help of the staff at his rehabilitation center, he learned how to forgive himself, to regain his humanity, and, finally, to heal. This is an extraordinary and mesmerizing account, told with real literary force and heartbreaking honesty.


A Long Way Gone

A Long Way Gone
  • Author : Ishmael Beah
  • Publisher : Penguin Canada
  • Release : 02 July 2013
GET THIS BOOKA Long Way Gone

At the age of twelve, Ishmael Beah fled attacking rebels in Sierra Leone and wandered a land rendered unrecognizable by violence. By thirteen, he'd been picked up by the government army, and Beah, at heart a gentle boy, found that he was capable of truly terrible acts. At sixteen, he was removed from fighting by UNICEF, and through the help of the staff at his rehabilitation center, he learned how to forgive himself, to regain his humanity, and, finally, to


Radiance of Tomorrow

Radiance of Tomorrow
  • Author : Ishmael Beah
  • Publisher : Penguin Canada
  • Release : 07 January 2014
GET THIS BOOKRadiance of Tomorrow

When Ishmael Beah’s A Long Way Gone was published in 2007, it soared to the top of bestseller lists, becoming an instant classic: a harrowing account of Sierra Leone’s civil war and the fate of child soldiers that “everyone in the world should read” (The Washington Post). Now Beah, whom Dave Eggers has called “arguably the most read African writer in contemporary literature,” has returned with his first novel, an affecting, tender parable about postwar life in Sierra Leone.


A Death in Belmont

A Death in Belmont
  • Author : Sebastian Junger
  • Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
  • Release : 17 April 2006
GET THIS BOOKA Death in Belmont

A fatal collision of three lives in the most intriguing and original crime story since In Cold Blood. In the spring of 1963, the quiet suburb of Belmont, Massachusetts, is rocked by a shocking sex murder that exactly fits the pattern of the Boston Strangler. Sensing a break in the case that has paralyzed the city of Boston, the police track down a black man, Roy Smith, who cleaned the victim's house that day and left a receipt with his name


Long Way Gone

Long Way Gone
  • Author : Charles Martin
  • Publisher : Thomas Nelson
  • Release : 04 October 2016
GET THIS BOOKLong Way Gone

USA TODAY bestseller from the author of The Mountain Between Us, now a major motion picture! “No matter where you go, no matter whether you succeed or fail, stand or fall, no gone is too far gone. You can always come home.” At the age of eighteen, musician and songwriter Cooper O’Connor took everything his father held dear and drove 1,200 miles from home to Nashville, his life riding on a six-string guitar and the bold wager that he had


Natural Killer

Natural Killer
  • Author : Harriet Alida Lye
  • Publisher : McClelland & Stewart
  • Release : 29 December 2020
GET THIS BOOKNatural Killer

"I need people to know that I exist, that their experiment worked, that by some combination of luck and science, I'm alive." In this harrowing and intimate memoir, Harriet Alida Lye explores how, at just fifteen years old, she was diagnosed with a form of leukemia called Natural Killer, named "the rarest and worst malignancy." The average survival time of patients with this diagnosis is fifty-eight days. There are no known survivors. There were no known survivors. Fifteen years after


Black Man's Grave

Black Man's Grave
  • Author : Gary Stewart,John Amman
  • Publisher : Anonim
  • Release : 25 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKBlack Man's Grave

Was it really all about diamonds? Sierra Leone was ripe for revolution; the Revolutionary United Front just didn't know how to pull it off. Meet the greedy politicians who hijacked Sierra Leone's fledgling democracy, the rebels who brought them down, and the villagers of Fadugu who struggled to survive the country's chaotic descent into civil war.


James and the Giant Peach

James and the Giant Peach
  • Author : Roald Dahl
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 16 August 2007
GET THIS BOOKJames and the Giant Peach

From the bestselling author of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and The BFG! After James Henry Trotter's parents are tragically eaten by a rhinoceros, he goes to live with his two horrible aunts, Spiker and Sponge. Life there is no fun, until James accidentally drops some magic crystals by the old peach tree and strange things start to happen. The peach at the top of the tree begins to grow, and before long it's as big as a house. Inside,


Home Baked

Home Baked
  • Author : Alia Volz
  • Publisher : Houghton Mifflin
  • Release : 25 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKHome Baked

A blazingly funny, heartfelt memoir from the daughter of the larger-than-life woman who ran Sticky Fingers Brownies, an underground bakery that distributed thousands of marijuana brownies per month and helped provide medical marijuana to AIDS patients in San Francisco--for fans of Armistead Maupin and Patricia Lockwood During the '70s in San Francisco, Alia's mother ran the underground Sticky Fingers Brownies, delivering upwards of 10,000 illegal marijuana edibles per month throughout the circus-like atmosphere of a city in the throes of


War Child

War Child
  • Author : Emmanuel Jal
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release : 03 February 2009
GET THIS BOOKWar Child

In the mid-1980s, Emmanuel Jal was a seven year old Sudanese boy, living in a small village with his parents, aunts, uncles, and siblings. But as Sudan's civil war moved closer—with the Islamic government seizing tribal lands for water, oil, and other resources—Jal's family moved again and again, seeking peace. Then, on one terrible day, Jal was separated from his mother, and later learned she had been killed; his father Simon rose to become a powerful commander


Rituals of Islamic Spirituality

Rituals of Islamic Spirituality
  • Author : Arif Zamhari
  • Publisher : ANU E Press
  • Release : 01 July 2010
GET THIS BOOKRituals of Islamic Spirituality

This study examines the emergence of new forms of Islamic spirituality in Indonesia identified as Majlis Dhikr. These Majlis Dhikr groups have proliferated on Java in the last two decades, both in urban and rural areas, and have attracted followers from a wide social background. The diverse aspects of these Majlis Dhikr groups - their rituals, teachings and strategies of dissemination as well as the popular understanding of these rituals and their contestation by critics and opponents - are examined


The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
  • Author : V. E. Schwab
  • Publisher : Tor Books
  • Release : 06 October 2020
GET THIS BOOKThe Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER USA TODAY BESTSELLER NATIONAL INDIE BESTSELLER THE WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER #1 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick - October 2020 Recommended by Entertainment Weekly, Real Simple, NPR, Slate, and Oprah Magazine A “Best Of” Book From: CNN *Amazon Editors * Goodreads * Bustle * PopSugar * BuzzFeed * Barnes & Noble * Kirkus Reviews * Lambda Literary * Nerdette * The Nerd Daily * Polygon * Library Reads * io9 * Smart Bitches Trashy Books * LiteraryHub * Medium * BookBub * The Mary Sue * Chicago Tribune * NY Daily News * SyFy Wire * Powells.com *


Grandma Gatewood's Walk

Grandma Gatewood's Walk
  • Author : Ben Montgomery
  • Publisher : Chicago Review Press
  • Release : 01 April 2014
GET THIS BOOKGrandma Gatewood's Walk

Emma Gatewood was the first woman to hike the entire Appalachian Trail alone, as well as the first person—man or woman—to walk it twice and three times and she did it all after the age of 65. This is the first and only biography of Grandma Gatewood, as the reporters called her, who became a hiking celebrity in the 1950s and '60s. She appeared on TV with Groucho Marx and Art Linkletter, and on the pages of Sports


Incomprehensible Demoralization

Incomprehensible Demoralization
  • Author : Jared Combs
  • Publisher : Xlibris Corporation
  • Release : 12 August 2008
GET THIS BOOKIncomprehensible Demoralization

Book Review: 5 Stars Courageous... We have an erroneous vision of what an addict looks like. The person sitting next to you in church could be an addict. It could be your doctor, lawyer, postal worker, or the little old lady that lives next door. Incomprehensible Demoralization drew me in and held me captive. Jared Combs describes the life of an addict and pharmacist. His marriage was deteriorating, but the pills were more important. Through the Lord, his Church, the support


The Bosnia List

The Bosnia List
  • Author : Kenan Trebincevic,Susan Shapiro
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 25 February 2014
GET THIS BOOKThe Bosnia List

A young survivor of the Bosnian War returns to his homeland to confront the people who betrayed his family At age eleven, Kenan Trebincevic was a happy, karate-loving kid living with his family in the quiet Eastern European town of Brcko. Then, in the spring of 1992, war broke out and his friends, neighbors and teammates all turned on him. Pero - Kenan's beloved karate coach - showed up at his door with an AK-47 - screaming: "You have one hour


Enslaved: True Stories of Modern Day Slavery

Enslaved: True Stories of Modern Day Slavery
  • Author : Jesse Sage
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release : 28 April 2015
GET THIS BOOKEnslaved: True Stories of Modern Day Slavery

Today, millions of people are being held in slavery around the world. From poverty-stricken countries to affluent American suburbs, slaves toil as sweatshop workers, sex slaves, migrant workers, and domestic servants. With exposés by seven former slaves--as well as one slaveholder--from Southeast Asia, Africa, Europe, the Middle East, and the United States, this groundbreaking collection of harrowing first-hand accounts reveals how slavery continues to thrive in the twenty-first century. From the memoirs of Micheline, a Haitian girl coerced into