• Home
  • Doing Time on the Outside

Doing Time on the Outside

Doing Time on the Outside
  • Author : Donald Braman
  • Publsiher : University of Michigan Press
  • Release : 06 August 2007
  • ISBN : 9780472032693
  • Pages : 274 pages
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 ratings
GET THIS BOOKDoing Time on the Outside

Summary:
"Stigma, shame and hardship---this is the lot shared by families whose young men have been swept into prison. Braman reveals the devastating toll mass incarceration takes on the parents, partners, and children left behind." -Katherine S. Newman "Doing Time on the Outside brings to life in a compelling way the human drama, and tragedy, of our incarceration policies. Donald Braman documents the profound economic and social consequences of the American policy of massive imprisonment of young African American males. He shows us the link between the broad-scale policy changes of recent decades and the isolation and stigma that these bring to family members who have a loved one in prison. If we want to understand fully the impact of current criminal justice policies, this book should be required reading." -Mark Mauer, Assistant Director, The Sentencing Project "Through compelling stories and thoughtful analysis, this book describes how our nation's punishment policies have caused incalculable damage to the fabric of family and community life. Anyone concerned about the future of urban America should read this book." -Jeremy Travis, The Urban Institute In the tradition of Elijah Anderson's Code of the Street and Katherine Newman's No Shame in My Game, this startling new ethnography by Donald Braman uncovers the other side of the incarceration saga: the little-told story of the effects of imprisonment on the prisoners' families. Since 1970 the incarceration rate in the United States has more than tripled, and in many cities-urban centers such as Washington, D.C.-it has increased over five-fold. Today, one out of every ten adult black men in the District is in prison and three out of every four can expect to spend some time behind bars. But the numbers don't reveal what it's like for the children, wives, and parents of prisoners, or the subtle and not-so-subtle effects mass incarceration is having on life in the inner city. Author Donald Braman shows that those doing time on the inside are having a ripple effect on the outside-reaching deep into the family and community life of urban America. Braman gives us the personal stories of what happens to the families and communities that prisoners are taken from and return to. Carefully documenting the effects of incarceration on the material and emotional lives of families, this groundbreaking ethnography reveals how criminal justice policies are furthering rather than abating the problem of social disorder. Braman also delivers a number of genuinely new arguments. Among these is the compelling assertion that incarceration is holding offenders unaccountable to victims, communities, and families. The author gives the first detailed account of incarceration's corrosive effect on social capital in the inner city and describes in poignant detail how the stigma of prison pits family and community members against one another. Drawing on a series of powerful family portraits supported by extensive empirical data, Braman shines a light on the darker side of a system that is failing the very families and communities it seeks to protect.


Doing Time on the Outside

Doing Time on the Outside
  • Author : Donald Braman
  • Publisher : University of Michigan Press
  • Release : 06 August 2007
GET THIS BOOKDoing Time on the Outside

"Stigma, shame and hardship---this is the lot shared by families whose young men have been swept into prison. Braman reveals the devastating toll mass incarceration takes on the parents, partners, and children left behind." -Katherine S. Newman "Doing Time on the Outside brings to life in a compelling way the human drama, and tragedy, of our incarceration policies. Donald Braman documents the profound economic and social consequences of the American policy of massive imprisonment of young African American males. He


Doing Time on the Outside

Doing Time on the Outside
  • Author : MaDonna Rose Maidment
  • Publisher : University of Toronto Press
  • Release : 26 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKDoing Time on the Outside

Doing Time on the Outside fills a gap in the research by focusing on the experiences of women on conditional release, and attempting to understand how some criminalized women avoid going back into custody given the many challenges they face.


Women at the Wall

Women at the Wall
  • Author : Laura T. Fishman
  • Publisher : SUNY Press
  • Release : 26 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKWomen at the Wall

Women at the Wall is the first ethnographic study of how the arrest, trial, imprisonment, and release of male criminals affects their families, particularly their wives. It relies on first-person accounts by prisoners’ wives, providing details about the changing texture of their marital relationships and the accompanying stigmatization. From this book we learn about the effects of enforced spousal separation, and the control husbands maintain even during incarceration. We also learn that wives devise ingenious interpretations and explanations regarding their


Visiting Life

Visiting Life
  • Author : Bridget Kinsella
  • Publisher : Harmony
  • Release : 26 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKVisiting Life

Drawing on her own personal experiences of building a relationship with an imprisoned man, a journalist journeys inside the lives of women who become involved with and fall in love with men behind bars, detailing the complex realities of life for such women, as well as the challenges, heartbreak, and dreams that they have for their relationships. 30,000 first printing.


Doing Time Together

Doing Time Together
  • Author : Megan Comfort
  • Publisher : University of Chicago Press
  • Release : 15 May 2009
GET THIS BOOKDoing Time Together

By quadrupling the number of people behind bars in two decades, the United States has become the world leader in incarceration. Much has been written on the men who make up the vast majority of the nation’s two million inmates. But what of the women they leave behind? Doing Time Together vividly details the ways that prisons shape and infiltrate the lives of women with husbands, fiancés, and boyfriends on the inside. Megan Comfort spent years getting to



Doing Time Outside

Doing Time Outside
  • Author : Ginnah Howard
  • Publisher : Anonim
  • Release : 26 February 2021
GET THIS BOOKDoing Time Outside

Fiction. Compelling, gritty and funny, DOING TIME OUTSIDE travels the back roads of family life to better understand what it means to be tied by blood and love to the world of mental illness, addiction and incarceration. Through compassion for her characters and the bouyancy of her voice, Howard gives us a novel with a generous and intelligent heart. "Catskill's wordsmith Howard has a gift for the choice, mundane detail: the vinegar chips and Advil headaches and warmth of a


We're All Doing Time

We're All Doing Time
  • Author : Bo Lozoff
  • Publisher : Anonim
  • Release : 26 February 1985
GET THIS BOOKWe're All Doing Time

Bo Lozoff is the director of Human Kindness Foundation and its internationally acclaimed Prison-Ashram Project. His writings, workshops, and tapes have helped countless people transform their lives into sacred practice even in some of our worst prisons -- prisons of selfishness, fear, anger, and addiction as well as bars and steel.


The Dedicated Ex-Prisoner's Guide to Life and Success on the Outside:

The Dedicated Ex-Prisoner's Guide to Life and Success on the Outside:
  • Author : Richard Bovan
  • Publisher : Full Surface Publishing
  • Release : 15 July 2018
GET THIS BOOKThe Dedicated Ex-Prisoner's Guide to Life and Success on the Outside:

There are more people incarcerated in the world today than at any other time in history. Every year millions of prisoners are released back into society after having completed their sentences, with the majority of them returning to prison within just a short time after their release. The Dedicated Ex-Prisoner's Guide to Life and Success on the Outside is a 10-rule guidebook for the ex-prisoner who is determined to be successful once released and offers invaluable information on how to


Doing Time

Doing Time
  • Author : Bell Gale Chevigny
  • Publisher : Skyhorse Publishing, Inc.
  • Release : 01 November 2011
GET THIS BOOKDoing Time

A special collection of the best fiction, essays, poetry, and plays from annual PEN Prison Writing contest offers unique insights into the emotions and thoughts engendered by the prison experience, ranging from humor and empathy to rage, fear, and despair. 15,000 first printing.


Doing Time Online

Doing Time Online
  • Author : Jan Siebold
  • Publisher : Albert Whitman & Company
  • Release : 01 January 2002
GET THIS BOOKDoing Time Online

Twelve-year-old Mitchell played a prank that led to an elderly woman's injury. Now he finds himself at the police station--his "sentence" is to chat online with a nursing home resident twice a week for the next month.


Doing Time in the Garden

Doing Time in the Garden
  • Author : James Jiler
  • Publisher : New Village Press
  • Release : 06 August 2006
GET THIS BOOKDoing Time in the Garden

This is the first comprehensive guide to in-prison and post-release horticultural training programs. James Jiler combines an engaging personal account of running a highly successful horticultural vocation program at the largest jail complex in the United States with a practical guide to starting and managing prison and re-entry gardening programs. James Jiler directs the Greenhouse Project for male and female inmates at New York City's Rikers Island jail system. He also directs the GreenTeam of ex-offenders, who work on landscape-related


Doing Our Time on the Outside

Doing Our Time on the Outside
  • Author : Barbara Allan
  • Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Release : 18 January 2018
GET THIS BOOKDoing Our Time on the Outside

Barbara Allan's introduction to the prison system came after her husband murdered his own father. Before that, she had faced her husband's alcoholism, his violent episodes, and multiple attempts to protect herself and her two daughters. But it was her confrontation with the criminal-justice system that has stuck with her-for almost fifty years. Founder of Prison Families Anonymous, Barbara discovered early on that families of the incarcerated had to do their own time, struggling to navigate a system that ignored


Beyond Bars

Beyond Bars
  • Author : Jeffrey Ross,Stephen C. Richards
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 07 July 2009
GET THIS BOOKBeyond Bars

Can the common criminal get a fresh start? An essential resource for former convicts and their families post-incarceration. The United States has the largest criminal justice system in the world, with currently over 7 million adults and juveniles in jail, prison, or community custody. Because they spend enough time in prison to disrupt their connections to their families and their communities, they are not prepared for the difficult and often life-threatening process of reentry. As a result, the percentage of these


Doing Time, Writing Lives

Doing Time, Writing Lives
  • Author : Patrick W. Berry
  • Publisher : SIU Press
  • Release : 27 December 2017
GET THIS BOOKDoing Time, Writing Lives

Doing Time, Writing Lives offers a much-needed analysis of the teaching of college writing in U.S. prisons. Through the examination of a college-in-prison program, Berry exposes not only incarcerated students' hopes and dreams for their futures but also their anxieties about whether education will help them.