• Home
  • Laughing to Keep from Dying

Laughing to Keep from Dying

Laughing to Keep from Dying
  • Author : Danielle Fuentes Morgan
  • Publsiher : University of Illinois Press
  • Release : 16 November 2020
  • ISBN : 0252052277
  • Pages : 208 pages
  • Rating : 4/5 from 21 ratings
GET THIS BOOKLaughing to Keep from Dying

Summary:
By subverting comedy's rules and expectations, African American satire promotes social justice by connecting laughter with ethical beliefs in a revolutionary way. Danielle Fuentes Morgan ventures from Suzan-Lori Parks to Leslie Jones and Dave Chappelle to Get Out and Atlanta to examine the satirical treatment of race and racialization across today's African American culture. Morgan analyzes how African American artists highlight the ways that society racializes people and bolsters the powerful myth that we live in a "post-racial" nation. The latter in particular inspires artists to take aim at the idea racism no longer exists or the laughable notion of Americans "not seeing" racism or race. Their critique changes our understanding of the boundaries between staged performance and lived experience and create ways to better articulate Black selfhood. Adventurous and perceptive, Laughing to Keep from Dying reveals how African American satirists unmask the illusions and anxieties surrounding race in the twenty-first century.


Laughing to Keep from Dying

Laughing to Keep from Dying
  • Author : Danielle Fuentes Morgan
  • Publisher : University of Illinois Press
  • Release : 16 November 2020
GET THIS BOOKLaughing to Keep from Dying

By subverting comedy's rules and expectations, African American satire promotes social justice by connecting laughter with ethical beliefs in a revolutionary way. Danielle Fuentes Morgan ventures from Suzan-Lori Parks to Leslie Jones and Dave Chappelle to Get Out and Atlanta to examine the satirical treatment of race and racialization across today's African American culture. Morgan analyzes how African American artists highlight the ways that society racializes people and bolsters the powerful myth that we live in a "post-racial" nation. The


Laughing Shall I Die

Laughing Shall I Die
  • Author : Tom Shippey
  • Publisher : Reaktion Books
  • Release : 15 May 2018
GET THIS BOOKLaughing Shall I Die

Laughing Shall I Die explores the Viking fascination with scenes of heroic death. The literature of the Vikings is dominated by famous last stands, famous last words, death songs, and defiant gestures, all presented with grim humor. Much of this mindset is markedly alien to modern sentiment, and academics have accordingly shunned it. And yet, it is this same worldview that has always powered the popular public image of the Vikings—with their berserkers, valkyries, and cults of Valhalla and


Dying in Style

Dying in Style
  • Author : Elaine Viets
  • Publisher : Jabberwocky Literary Agency, Inc.
  • Release : 13 November 2018
GET THIS BOOKDying in Style

Secret shopper Josie Marcus tries sleuthing on for size when she’s framed for murder in this cozy mystery by the Anthony and Agatha Award–winning author. On her latest assignment, Josie mystery shops the stores of St. Louis’s premier handbag designer, Danessa Celedine. A stunning socialite who makes headlines with her hot Russian lover, Serge, Danessa sells exquisite purses to the rich and famous. Unfortunately, Danessa’s shops aren’t nearly as dazzling as her clientele, and Josie’



I'm Dying Up Here

I'm Dying Up Here
  • Author : William Knoedelseder
  • Publisher : PublicAffairs
  • Release : 25 August 2009
GET THIS BOOKI'm Dying Up Here

In the mid-1970s, Jay Leno, David Letterman, Andy Kaufman, Richard Lewis, Robin Williams, Elayne Boosler, Tom Dreesen, and several hundred other shameless showoffs and incorrigible cutups from all across the country migrated en masse to Los Angeles, the new home of Johnny Carson's Tonight Show. There, in a late-night world of sex, drugs, dreams and laughter, they created an artistic community unlike any before or since. It was Comedy Camelot—but it couldn't last. William Knoedelseder, then a cub


Disappearing Tricks

Disappearing Tricks
  • Author : Matthew Solomon
  • Publisher : University of Illinois Press
  • Release : 02 March 2021
GET THIS BOOKDisappearing Tricks

Disappearing Tricks revisits the golden age of theatrical magic and silent film to reveal how professional magicians shaped the early history of cinema. Where others have called upon magic as merely an evocative metaphor for the wonders of cinema, Matthew Solomon focuses on the work of the professional illusionists who actually made magic with moving pictures between 1895 and 1929. The first to reveal fully how powerfully magic impacted the development of cinema, the book combines film and theater history to uncover


Laughing Fit to Kill

Laughing Fit to Kill
  • Author : Glenda Carpio
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release : 01 July 2008
GET THIS BOOKLaughing Fit to Kill

Reassessing the meanings of "black humor" and "dark satire," Laughing Fit to Kill illustrates how black comedians, writers, and artists have deftly deployed various modes of comedic "conjuring"--the absurd, the grotesque, and the strategic expression of racial stereotypes--to redress not only the past injustices of slavery and racism in America but also their legacy in the present. Focusing on representations of slavery in the post-civil rights era, Carpio explores stereotypes in Richard Pryor's groundbreaking stand-up act and the outrageous


Me and Earl and the Dying Girl (Movie Tie-in Edition)

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl (Movie Tie-in Edition)
  • Author : Jesse Andrews
  • Publisher : Abrams
  • Release : 26 May 2015
GET THIS BOOKMe and Earl and the Dying Girl (Movie Tie-in Edition)

The book that inspired the hit film! Sundance U.S. Dramatic Audience Award Sundance Grand Jury Prize This is the funniest book you’ll ever read about death. It is a universally acknowledged truth that high school sucks. But on the first day of his senior year, Greg Gaines thinks he’s figured it out. The answer to the basic existential question: How is it possible to exist in a place that sucks so bad? His strategy: remain at the


With the End in Mind

With the End in Mind
  • Author : Kathryn Mannix
  • Publisher : Little, Brown Spark
  • Release : 16 January 2018
GET THIS BOOKWith the End in Mind

For readers of Atul Gawande and Paul Kalanithi, a palliative care doctor's breathtaking stories from 30 years spent caring for the dying. Modern medical technology is allowing us to live longer and fuller lives than ever before. And for the most part, that is good news. But with changes in the way we understand medicine come changes in the way we understand death. Once a familiar, peaceful, and gentle -- if sorrowful -- transition, death has come to be something from


Things I've Learned from Dying

Things I've Learned from Dying
  • Author : David R. Dow
  • Publisher : Twelve
  • Release : 07 January 2014
GET THIS BOOKThings I've Learned from Dying

"Every life is different, but every death is the same. We live with others. We die alone." In his riveting, artfully written memoir The Autobiography of an Execution, David Dow enraptured readers with a searing and frank exploration of his work defending inmates on death row. But when Dow's father-in-law receives his own death sentence in the form of terminal cancer, and his gentle dog Winona suffers acute liver failure, the author is forced to reconcile with death in a


Life Lessons

Life Lessons
  • Author : Elisabeth Kübler-Ross,David Kessler
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 12 August 2014
GET THIS BOOKLife Lessons

A guide to living life in the moment uses lessons learned from the dying to help the living find the most enjoyment and happiness.


How to Succeed in Heaven Without Really Dying

How to Succeed in Heaven Without Really Dying
  • Author : Adam McDaniel
  • Publisher : Anonim
  • Release : 01 August 2005
GET THIS BOOKHow to Succeed in Heaven Without Really Dying

HOW TO SUCCEED IN HEAVEN WITHOUT REALLY DYING is not a self-help book, but a darkly satirical, modern-day urban fairy tale concerning the adventures of a young man coming to terms with life, death, and all their crummy consequences. It's also the underground novel that prompted a letter of complaint from a member of the Church of Scientology, even though the author wrote enough to offend just about everybody. "A masterpiece." -Christie Schuler Smith, The Valdosta Voice"McDaniel shows real


Not Without Laughter

Not Without Laughter
  • Author : Langston Hughes
  • Publisher : Courier Corporation
  • Release : 05 March 2012
GET THIS BOOKNot Without Laughter

Poet Langston Hughes' only novel, a coming-of-age tale that unfolds amid an African American family in rural Kansas, explores the dilemmas of life in a racially divided society.


Dying for a Date

Dying for a Date
  • Author : Cindy Sample,Karen Phillips
  • Publisher : CreateSpace
  • Release : 01 September 2013
GET THIS BOOKDying for a Date

Dying for a Date by 2012 LEFTY Finalist for Best Humorous Mystery "Cindy Sample knows how to weave a story that satisfies and excites. Time literally flew by as I turned the pages...simultaneously harrowing, exciting, tender, and uplifting, a true who-done-it combined with a romance that will warm the heart and sheets." -Long and Short Reviews WOULD DATING BE THE DEATH OF HER? Unsure if she is looking for Mr. Right, or Mr. Every Other Saturday Night, divorced mother of


It's Okay to Laugh

It's Okay to Laugh
  • Author : Nora McInerny Purmort
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release : 24 May 2016
GET THIS BOOKIt's Okay to Laugh

“Thank you for the perfect blend of nostalgia-drenched humor, wit, and heartbreak, Nora.” — Mandy Moore comedy = tragedy + time/rosé Twenty-seven-year-old Nora McInerny Purmort bounced from boyfriend to dopey “boyfriend” until she met Aaron—a charismatic art director and comic-book nerd who once made Nora laugh so hard she pulled a muscle. When Aaron was diagnosed with a rare form of brain cancer, they refused to let it limit their love. They got engaged on Aaron’s hospital bed and had